Feeding Milestones For Ages 25 Months to 6 Years of Age

By AASLJanuary 13, 2021

Childhood development is complex and it’s not always easy to tell if your child’s development is considered “typical.” If you’re worried that your child’s feeding development may be atypical, here is a tool for you to use. These are the developmental milestones for feeding that average children meet by certain ages.

1. Children Over Age 2 to 6 Years of Age, typical development includes:

  • Your child should continue to improve and refine his/her eating skills beyond age two.
  • He/she should master manipulation of all food types easily in the mouth and develop sophisticated chewing skills by age 6.
  • At this age, your child should be able to eat even the hardest-to-eat foods such as all types of meat and taffy, and should accept a variety of new foods during mealtimes.

Complete This Short Form to

    Select all that apply

Sharing is caring!